Big Rock Big rock whining, wont move.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Randy5oh

Fairly New Member
Reaction score
Hey guys, I'm pretty new to these... Last RC I had was a Traxxas gas powered probably 15 years ago. My truck doesn't move at all when given throttle, but has a whining/whirring noise coming from the further back part of the center of the body, and I'm not sure what to order. I figure it's clutch, or gear related.. but idk. I do have a video, but don't see a way to post it here.. Thanks for any feedback!

You need to take it apart to inspect but sounds like a worn out spur…due to something else, likely a bent motor mount but you need to inspect.

You'll need to pull the power module out and inspect the slipper clutch. Either stripped the spur, slipper pads are worn or it loosened up. Plenty of videos on Youtube.

What happened right before that noise? It’s also possible the adjustment screws weren’t tight enough on the motor, so the pinion lost mesh entirely with the spur. -my friend’s BR did that once.

Well.. think I found the problem. 😳 any ideas what could have caused it? And also do they make this gear in anything other than plastic?

20230625_132955.jpg

20230625_133002.jpg

20230625_133158.jpg

20230625_133200.jpg

20230625_133206.jpg

Visually it may appear that the mesh is too loose. Also, based on where the spur is ground down and the picture you show, the pinion and spur faces are matched, makes me think the spur is not tight and walking on the shaft.
Visually it may appear that the mesh is too loose. Also, based on where the spur is ground down and the picture you show, the pinion and spur faces are matched, makes me think the spur is not right and walking on the shaft.

I probably went though 5 or 6 spurs before I really understood how to set the mesh. Between that and making sure the motor mount wasn’t bent, I haven’t replaced a spur gear in years on my 3s cars.