Typhon Is it possible to connect a NiMH battery to the BLX 185 IC5 either through adaptors or soldering on a new connector?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jkwand

Fairly New Member
Reaction score
Due to safety concerns around lipo batteries, im looking for a NiMH battery that will work for casual driving and storage. The BLX 185 has an IC5 connector. Just wondering if there is a way to utilize the hardware that’s currently onboard or if I need to purchase a new ESC. I’m just getting into RC customization so looking for some guidance here. While i know a lipo battery will yield better performance and duration, I’m just looking for a safer battery option that I don’t need to worry about when I’m away from home.

Thank you!

I know this doesn't directly answer your question, but there are ways to make lipo batteries safe.

Read up on charging/storage rules. Look into Bat-Safe for charging and buy an ammo can for storage.

You're right to pay attention to lipo safety, but it's not much (if any) more dangerous than your NiMH if following the right precautions.

Due to safety concerns around lipo batteries, im looking for a NiMH battery that will work for casual driving and storage. The BLX 185 has an IC5 connector. Just wondering if there is a way to utilize the hardware that’s currently onboard or if I need to purchase a new ESC. I’m just getting into RC customization so looking for some guidance here. While i know a lipo battery will yield better performance and duration, I’m just looking for a safer battery option that I don’t need to worry about when I’m away from home.

Thank you!
The BLX185 V2 or newer no longer works with Nimh packs. The V1 had a Nimh mode, but that was removed a long time ago. You will likely need an aftermarket ESC to truly support Nimh packs.

I don't know if there are NiMHs that are powerful enough, though Traxxas does make some for the 8s X-MAXX.