Outcast Outcast 4s V2 melted wire

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DCounc

Fairly New Member
Reaction score
Hey y'all,
Been scraping around the net trying to find information about a melted motor wire.
I have been driving and outcast 4S V2 for the last 6 months and enjoying every minute of it. After my last bash I discovered that my blue motor wire had completely fused to the fan connector and started melting through the heat shrink. I don't recall any especially violent crashes or unique situations that may have caused this so I'm at a bit of a loss.
After I got home I did a deep clean and didn't find any binding connectors or anything out of place. It is possible a pebble got stuck in the drive shaft for an extended period of time but I usually hear that sort of thing happening.
The motor seems fine and the ESC seems fine but I'm not entirely sure how to confirm that.

I come to you looking for ideas about what may have happened or ideas about what to do moving forward. Do I just solder on new connectors and heat shrink it up? Do I try to get a motor that will run cooler?
This thing rips as you all know so I don't need more torque or higher top speed I just need cooler temperatures.
Thanks for your thoughts, arrmaforum

Pics below
IMG_20230809_192528472.jpg

IMG_20230809_192614801.jpg

One more pic of the male end the melted connector. A bit blackened
IMG_20230809_194820638_HDR.jpg

Clean off the old shrink wrap,
Replace melted connector, and re-shrink wrap connectors.

Hey yo, thanks for quick reply. Just like that, don't worry about the fact it melted? If it happens a second time then figure it out?

If you look closely, the area doesn't look to be "melted"
It looks to be more from abrasion..

If it was from heat.. the fan connector would be more warped..

At least from the photos you provided.

Is there another angle that shows more damage??