Infraction Upgraded Infraction question on gearing

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MtrxD

Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. Infraction
  2. Typhon 3s
Hello and glad to find this forum. I'm new to getting back into cars. My wife and I bash together at a local movie parking lot. She has a 3S Typhon, and I have the Infraction. I left both of our machines stock until 3 days ago(with the exception of were both running grp S5 rubber slicks).

I upgraded the infraction to 22 tooth pinion, and it was the first time the speed control thermalled. I am used to flying with castle speed controllers, so I purchased the castle MM8S, along with(i think this is the correct number of the motor) a hobbywing 3680 2200KV motor. I have always run 6S 50C dual 3S packs in the vehicle. But, with this change in electronics, the car has, or seems to have so much more power(it's so much that if I stab the throttle holding the car, the grps are actually ballooning hard) .

On the ground, even if I'm going maybe 1/3 throttle, if I peg it, the car is fishtailing hard(I honestly didn't think it would be this much of a difference, because I thought the stock motor was 2200KV also). It hooks up after about 5 to 10 feet, so it's not completely out of control.

So, and I have the 22 tooth still in there, I'm wondering with this new setup and it's jump in performance, should I just throw the optional 27 tooth on the car? I'm still running everything else stock(difs, oil in the difs, etc). I also know I need to buy both a little Harbor Freight temp gun, along with a little gps speedometer.

But just wondering what's the opinion of folks that have had this vehicle for a while and have bumped up motors and speed controls, along with other options..

Thanks much

Too late for that, it's in the car and soldered. I might have the number wrong, because I'm going off the top of my head versus going to look at the box.