Will this airbrush work for Createx airbrush paint ??

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Denvermatt

Premium Member!
Premium Member
Reaction score
Hey folks! I'm trying to switch over to airbrushing so I bought this cheap beginner airbrush at Harbor Freight today. I was wondering if it will work with Createx water based airbrush paint? Do I need to thin the paint and if I do what thinner do I need. Thanks so much for your help. Also if there is a thread or link discussing how to use airbrush paint on bodies you recommend please post the link

20230815_091714.jpg

I am not an expert with Air brushing, but have worked in AutoBody shops and did painting before. Air brushes for the most part can use most any paint.
Its about getting it thin enough to spray well. If using water based paint. I imagine water is to be used to thin it out. But most water based paint is fine to use as is. Double check by practicing first.
Don't quote me.
I would absolutely practice with that air brush. Don't expet to get someone to direct you and spray the body right away. Practice on scrap plastic or whatever you have there, first. Look for videos in regards. I been a rattle can guy for 35+ years. Always wanted an air brush. I don't really get into painting much. So rattle cans serve me fine enough. Airbrushing gets better results when doing intricate multi color graphics and all, no doubt. Bottled Paint is less $$ compared to rattle cans also. Especially the Tamiya paints.
This airbrush is fine enough for RC work. Just keep it very clean after each use. "Liquid mask" works best in airbrushes, if you are so inlcined to use it also. Hopefully others will give better advice.
Good luck.
Show us your results when you are finished. :cool: