Deans Connector Question

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ZoomZoom

Fairly New Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

Trying to make a comeback to the hobby after a long hiatus and I just purchased a Kraton 6S which I will be picking it up tomorrow (yay!).

Problem is I didn't think I'd get my hands on it so soon as they seem to be out of stock almost everywhere so I bought new lipos for my other cars that use deans connectors.

Bought these:
https://www.ebay.ca/itm/2pcs-7-4V-2...e=STRK:MEBIDX:IT&_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649
and a pair of these:
https://www.greathobbies.com/productinfo/?prod_id=GENH50002S50W

I was planning on running the Kraton on 4S for now until I get used to it because I'm a newbie and a terrible driver.

My question:
Since I'll only be running 4S (by 2 x 2S packs) would it be okay if I keep the deans on the batteries and just utilize a connector to go to IC5/EC5?
I'm not great at soldering and not thrilled about having to change the connectors on all the batteries and other cars.

I think Dean's are only rated for 60 amps. XT 90's are 90 amps,, EC 5 are 120 amp. The Dean's will probably get hot and adapters are for the lack of a better word, (that's permitted here) Crap.

The most I'd run with Deans is 3s, and even then the leads on my old scrap heap HPI Bullet on 3s used to get fairly hot, so I eventually swapped all connectors out for EC5

I would personally take a day to replace all your batteries with either XT90, XT150 or EC5 connectors. They'll take much more load. Deans are a thing of the past. Once it's done, it's done ?

I recommend switching to ec5 personally. Then if you want to use the batteries in your other cars, make an adapter.