Granite Help me choose a brushless motor size

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jakelandry

Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. 4x4-Mega
Hi guys, I am relatively new to the RC world. I bought my Arrma granite 4x4 about a year ago on a rare Louisiana snow day just to play in the snow and sadly it only got used a handful of times between then and now. I was just too unsatisfied with only having a single stock battery and a bit too intimidated to go out and invest a lot of money in lipos and brushless motors. Well fast forward to now and my wife bought me a 2s LiPo for Christmas so that was enough of a kick in the pants to get me going again. I have since sourced a second 2s LiPo with the intention to bash around my front yard on 2s but run them in series when I get serious.

So to my question. It seems I’m limited to a 13t or 17t input gear in hd form so I’m gonna have to pick a motor size around that. I’d like to break into the high 50mph range on 4s and be able to beat around my yard at 30 ish, in the grass not asphalt, on 2s. I am very interested in a mamba x ESCs so I basically need help picking a motor that can handle the above conditions without getting too hot. I’ve seen a few videos online of motors in the 5700kv range but I want to make sure that something that size will be compatible with the limited gearing we have with upgraded input shafts. If any further information is needed feel free to ask otherwise thank you for any help in advance.