Is my lipo battery toast?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dmkkings

Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. Felony
  2. Infraction
  3. Limitless
  4. Mojave
  5. Vendetta
I have a few Spectrum Smart 3s 50c lipo batteries! One in particular likes to store charge at the following volts per cell! They are usually as follows, 3.88, 3.88, and 3.83! At those volts after store charging my lipo, does it mean that that Lipo battery is starting to go bad or is bad! Thanks for the replies! No peepee's need to respond!

I’ve had a few chargers and most storage charge to 3.80 volts per cell. Except one cheap charger did 3.85v.
Anyway all cells should have equal voltage after storage charging.
Can’t tell if the battery is faulty or the spektrum stuff, i have no experience with that.

Is it timing out or does it indicate that storage charging is complete? Is it always the same cell that shows low (3rd cell of every pack) or does it vary based on the pack?

Can your charger take an IR reading for the cells? If one cells has a higher IR, it will give you problems like this. Are you setting your charger to "Storage Charge" or "Balance Storage" or is this the magic Smarts at work?

Check IR levels. I'm not familiar with spektrum chargers.. I've got two batteries that "storage" one cell is 3.79 the other one is 3.85. There IR is tad higher than the other cells. Which is why it's takes longer.

You need the Spektrum SMART lipo programmer to evaluate and customize the discharge parameters. Need to check the Internal restance of each cell.
I think those Smart lipos are normal for what they are. Don't expect much more. They are quite $$$ and nothing more. That whole Smart ECO Fluff thing.
Because I am a Peepee head, I have to say it.....
Spektrum lipos suck.
:LOL: