Does gyro location matter?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
When I was a noob, I pulled the electronics including the Reedy gyro receiver and swapped it into another truck. The orientation of the installation was different (swapped in 180°?) and it caused the gyro to work “backwards.” It took me almost a full pack to figure out why the truck was totally undriveable. I either had to flip it, or reverse it with the radio, I don’t remember which.

Does a gyro behave differently based on location?

Front, middle, rear, etc.
I don'think so at all.
It makes sense to "think" that the a Gyro should be at perfect dead center on the chassis and Flat but the way these are designed, It can be located anywhere as long as it is firmly rigid to the chassis and either mounted flat or on its edge. Once mounted properly per the instructions, only then should it be calibrated.

When I was a noob, I pulled the electronics including the Reedy gyro receiver and swapped it into another truck. The orientation of the installation was different (swapped in 180°?) and it caused the gyro to work “backwards.” It took me almost a full pack to figure out why the truck was totally undriveable. I either had to flip it, or reverse it with the radio, I don’t remember which.
Most quality Gyros have a "Reverse" setting for that reason. Others calibrate the direction on their own.
Reedy Gyro Receivers must suck.. Anything Reedy does. All their RTR stuff .... TA Radios ALL suck, big time. Been there.
Except their Reedy $High end$ Race ESC's and Motors, if anything.
I only use "Standalone" Flysky Gyros now. The GC-401's. Which have 3 pre-settable Curve rates, depending on how you will drive the rig. Whether for Bashing, Track use or Speed running.
Futabas' are the best Standalone gyros out there, hands down. But at $100.00 not for me.:rolleyes:
SkyRC GC-401 and even the GC-301 work perfectly. And at 1/3 the price of a Futaba.

Last edited: