ESC LiPoSpark HELP

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

agd125

Fairly New Member
Reaction score
I bought new kraton 6s exb rtr and i plugged fully charged gensacearespammers bashing pro 6s lipo 6800mah(brand new, not old) into esc and there was a small spark, on lipo EC5 connector i see two little black dots. Is this dangerous or what? how to avoid it? HELP

Was this the very 1st time you plugged a battery into the rig?

I'm no expert but maybe the capacitors were low & grabbed all that energy from the battery quick, to fill them up. I've had my rigs do that. I'll not turn on the ESC & leave it plugged in for 60 sec, un plug & reconnect the battery & it doesn't spark. And all works fine. The yellow EC5 Gens plugs are supposed to be anti spark type. You're probably ok to go bash my friend

I'm no expert but maybe the capacitors were low & grabbed all that energy from the battery quick, to fill them up. I've had my rigs do that. I'll not turn on the ESC & leave it plugged in for 60 sec, un plug & reconnect the battery & it doesn't spark. And all works fine. The yellow EC5 Gens plugs are supposed to be anti spark type. You're probably ok to go bash my friend
i will try it tomorrow and answer you as fast as possible

The spark is normal for the factory escs. The only way to avoid it is to swap out to an anti spark connector. Unfortunately they don't make anti spark Ic5s though.

Yeah, I plugged my new build in a few days ago to set end points and mine sparked. Had LHS solder two IC5's on a brand new HW quicrun 150a. My other rigs have the better E-Flite EC5's and haven't sparked once, so idk.

Yeah, I know, I'm a bad hobbyist for not soldering, but I have enough going on in my hobby room and have no financial room for any more crap right now.