Help a noob out

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Binmgus

Fairly New Member
Reaction score
Hello, I'm new to the hobby and bought a rtr gorgon kit a couple days ago. It was cool for the first run with the included battery, but after the first charge with the s120 charger it came with, it wouldn't last as long. I checked the light on the esc and the manual says its the lvc. Though I'm pretty sure the esc's nimh mode doesn't trigger the lvc?

So would this be more of a battery issue?

Thank you

Invest in a Spektrum smart charger. You’ll be charging 6s lipos before you can say “RC car addiction!”

I bet you are getting poor run time now, because Nim packs have that dreaded "memory thing" going on.
Research what I am saying. Learn what that is. Look it up, to reverse this memory effect. Needs to be cycled a few times, from 1.2v /cell to full charge, how this works. A cheap charger with no display and C rate control, is usually not much help in this regard.
>>> Or just get into Lipo packs and charger. A different world of RC fun.(y)

I bet you are getting poor run time now, because Nim packs have that dreaded "memory thing" going on.
Research what I am saying. Learn what that is. Look it up, to reverse this memory effect. Needs to be cycled a few times, from 1.2v /cell to full charge, how this works. A cheap charger with no display and C rate control, is usually not much help in this regard.
>>> Or just get into Lipo packs and charger. A different world of RC fun.(y)
Might just jump to lipo, the videos I've seen makes the rc livelier

Hello, I'm new to the hobby and bought a rtr gorgon kit a couple days ago. It was cool for the first run with the included battery, but after the first charge with the s120 charger it came with, it wouldn't last as long. I checked the light on the esc and the manual says its the lvc. Though I'm pretty sure the esc's nimh mode doesn't trigger the lvc?