Granite 4X4 BLX V3 - sudden clicking noise *FIXED + UPGRADE PARTS*

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fknrad

Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. Granite
Hey eveyone,

Hope you all are doing well!

My beloved RC truck suddenly started making a clicking / grinding / something seems out of phase in the there kindof noise. I am new to the hobby, but I made sure to take diligent care of the RC every time I was done with my sessions.

Yesterday I flipped the thing quite a few times trying a jump (I play in the snow). All of sudden I hear a clicking/grinding noise that follows throttle and intensifies with speed. I immediately turned everything off and went home. I’ve been looking for an answer to what the noise is, but as any noobs do; I can’t.

Did something come loose? Is something stuck in the transfer case? Did I grind a gear?

I’m very mechanically inclined (I own a Fiat 500 Abarth after all 😅), so I know my way around. Nonetheless, if there would be any kind souls here to guide me in this first troubleshooting, I would be ultra grateful. I don’t want to break the thing more than it is.

Thanks so much in advance for the precious help!

Cheers,

David

I would say there are a few options: pinion stripped the spur gear, input gear stripped the front or rear diff ring gear.

First I would pull the drive shaft, which will eliminate the front diff as the culprit. If the griding persists, pull the power module (motor + slipper), you can inspect the spur and check your pinion mesh. If that's all good, I would focus on the rear diff.. it's not that hard to pull out and inspect.

If the diffs look fine externally, there could be damage inside, but I think this is probably one of the least common failure modes in the drivetrain of the 3S line up (could be wrong).

Good luck, there's lots of people here who can help if you get stuck!

Last edited:
Hey eveyone,

Hope you all are doing well!