Granite My brushed motor went out. Upgrade or replace?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

FreaknPurple

Fairly New Member
Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. Granite Mega
Ok so i'm new to the hobby i got an older Arrma granite 4x4 mega from my uncle recently and it had leaky shocks and a bad battery, i replaced the shocks and i got a 2s LiPo and put the ECS in LiPo mode. but nontheless the motor did not agree and went out, i have the gearbox out now and can confirm that its not the slipper clutch. I do want to go brushless and i want to know everyones opinions and experience. I also would like to know the process of going brushless from brushed. Go easy on me lol

I watched a few videos on the process, looks fairly easy. I don't really know how fast i want it to go, ive never driven anything faster than the stock granite mega i have now. I also don't really mind replacing drivetrain parts as they break if i go with motor thats a little more powerful. And i believe that i can solder a new dean plug onto the ECS. As of now i don't plan on going any bigger than 2s.

Last edited:
I started with a granite mega 4x4, and when my motor went out I upgraded to 120a Spektrum esc and 3660 3200kv Spektrum motor. Had to change slipper to 57T 0.8 mod, and pinion I have 17T 0.8mod. it's more than fast enough for me on 3S and so far (10 months) only stripped one spur and one rear diff/input gear. Driveshafts I have replaced with new stock ones, just because old ones was really sloppy after a while. Didn't break tho.👍 I think with upgrading to brushless and run it on 2S would still be faster than stock brushed setup, and would last you longer. I'd recommend if you have the money. Sure is expensive to start with brushed and upgrade to brushless, instead of just buy the 3s version.