New Kraton EXB Owner Motor Advice

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TomB88

Reaction score
Hi all,

I have wanted a Kraton for a while and finally bought a used EXB with a max6 and 4274 2200kv motor. Looking for some advice on motor/pinion setup as I am new to brushless RC's (have a few 1/5 petrol).

The previous owner has been running on a 15t pinion, but I read here that may be too much for 2200kv and that kv is too much for the Kraton.

I have some options and would like your experienced input. I don't want to fry anything on the first outing - not so bothered about the motor, but don't want to bugger the ESC.

1. Keep the 2200kv motor and 15t pinion whilst monitoring temps
2. Keep the 2200kv motor and gear down (the lowest I have on hand is 14t)
3. Swap a 4092 Leopard 1480kv motor from a Hyper ST conversion (that I never finished) - would require swapping bullet connectors
4. Buy a Hobbywing 4985 for £85 and gear up to a 20 ish t pinion

I will be running mostly on very short/well trodden grass, some of which is rutted/uneven possibly with some dirt/mud thrown in sometimes if that makes a difference.

Grateful for any input.

Cheers

2200kv is too much for 6s. Especially in a heavy rig like yours.
Ideally, for efficiency and reliability and heat control, your motor should be kept to 30k-35k rpm on the voltage you intend to use. 2200kv on 22.2 volts is just under 50k rpm. That motor is more suitable for 4s. That's another option you could consider. But it may heat up quickly, just like the stock motors tend to do. They are simply a bit small for Arrma 6s cars.
Since you already have a 4092, you might want to try that. People seem to like that motor. It will handle 6s just fine.