Vorteks Poor traction and control over rough grass

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chef22

Fairly New Member
Reaction score
I’m new to higher end rc vehicles. Besides improving my driving skills is there anyway to help my vorteks gain better traction and control while bombing around my yard? It spins on the tires and can be erratic to control. I’ve definitely thrilled down a lot but don’t want to have to drive at 50/75 throttle just to control it.

Any advice is welcome.

Stock tires are going to be bad on anything longer than putting green grass. Try bigger knobbies like Badlands or Duratrax Six-Packs. You can also try loosening your slipper 1/4-1/2 turn.

Welcome to the forum!

Throttle control is your friend, remember it is linear, not a switch. Beyond that, tyre selection helps but I don't know much about the Vorteks platform. Maybe backflip LPs?

But yeah man, throttle control and drive the car don't let it drive you

How tall is the grass? 3s rigs aren't heavy, so if the grass isn't short it will have a little tougher time putting down grip. Are you running stock tires? If the grass is short, a different set of tires might be better for the surface you are on. Lots of good tire options for 3s rigs from Proline, Duratrax, Powerhobby, and others.

edit: Lol, thats what I love about this board, look how quick a bunch of good replies showed up!

Hang on to the Vorteks for sentimental reasons and get yourself a 6s rig. I personally recommend a Kraton v5 it will eat your grass.

Drunk Ken Marino GIF by Party Down

How tall is the grass? 3s rigs aren't heavy, so if the grass isn't short it will have a little tougher time putting down grip. Are you running stock tires? If the grass is short, a different set of tires might be better for the surface you are on. Lots of good tire options for 3s rigs from Proline, Duratrax, Powerhobby, and others.