Really Lovin' My HOTA DC6 Plus!

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

drjim

Old And In The Way!
Premium Member
Build Thread Contributor
Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. Limitless
  2. Senton 6s
This is a really nice charger!

I've used it on all three of my LiPo batteries, and carefully watched the charging process. I like the way it ramps up the current as it begins the charge instead of clobbering the battery with the full charge current.

And being a complete beginner with these big LiPo batteries, I was pleased to see that my new SMC batteries came with an instruction sheet explaining charging, and something new to me, Storage Mode.

I didn't know that the correct way to use these packs is to discharge them down to a certain volatge before putting them aside for more than a couple of days. I've always made sure my batteries were fully charged before storing them, so this is new to me.

The "Instruction Manual" that came with the HOTA is pretty amusing in it's use of mangled English, and how sparse it is. But I figured it out with a few minutes of punching buttons, scrolling screens, and re-reading the instruction sheet.

The variable speed cooling fan is a nice touch, too.

All-in-all I'm happy with the charger. Works "As Advertised", and has more features than I know how to use now.

(y)

Last edited:
This is a case of "No News Is Good News", or what some people would call "It Just Works".......:)

I haven't been backyard bashing in a while due to the snow, but I've been using it for my 10th scale on-road (same 2S LiPo as my Senton), and it's great. I've also used it several times to charge the LiFe battery I bought for my Futaba 4PM, other than having to make an EC-3 to JSC (? looks like a servo plug) adapter, it works perfectly for that, too.