How long can you make charging lead extensions?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Attk11

Fairly New Member
Reaction score
Hi I'm new to RCing,

I bought an Arrma big rock (already preformed the pre use maintenance) for my kids and I. We also have a Wltoys 124018 and have a 124019 coming. I bought a Hota D6 pro charger with duel outputs thinking that the duel ports would charge the batteries fast enough. I was wrong, the kids love the big rock and they go through the 2 awana 5000 mah packs pretty fast. I ended up buying a parallel charging board to speed up the process, as well as ordering a 3rd awana 5000 mah pack.

I like to use the bbq to charge the batteries in, that way if there is ever a problem the bbq will contain the inferno. I bought extensions cables for the charging and balance cables. I would like to cut the 8" extensions in half and add 16"-24" of wire, this keeps the charger outside the bbq and allows for space in between the batteries inside the bbq.

Now to the question
How long can you extend the leads before the voltage drop affects the charger's readings? Like if I put 100' of wire in between the batteries and the charger I can’t expect the charger to read the cell voltage properly. I would expect the resistance of the 100' of wire to show full cell of 4.20v to read lower like 3.99v (I actually don’t know just making up a number)
IMG_5811.jpeg
IMG_5813.jpeg

Infinite length, you will never impact the voltage measurement. Stay at the recommend gauge for the charging current or one higher. Longest I ever had was 20ft but becomes cumbersome, you will need both the charging leads and balance plugs.
Realistically I wouldn't go more than 10ft but at the right gauge you can go miles.

100ft not realistic IMHO.:LOL:
1 foot-2 foot max.
Nice Charger BTW
I Have 2 of the HobbyMate version of that charger. Running a dual 24v/400wat PSU with them.