I'm moving to Torx, fed up with rounding hex bits & heads.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I'm relatively new to RC, bought my first car about a year ago but the bug hit hard and I've now got quite a few cars. Love every aspect of the hobby except the cost:cautious:. One thing I don't see talked about much is the stupid hex heads and how Torx is seemingly better in every way. I'm fed up with spending money on tools that round off every month or so and screws that will eventually do the same, making them a pain to remove. I appreciate there is a slight initial cost increase but surely that disappears with the savings over time. In the construction industry in the UK I'm seeing Torx increasingly used, for good reason too; no cam out, no rounding, no striped heads, bits last longer. The only issue I can see is it will be a little more difficult to remove dry mud from screws on the underside of the chassis. Am I missing something? Why is this not more commonplace in RC?

My plan is to buy a big variety of countersunk, socket cap & button head screws in m3 & m4 sizes. It'll cost about £50 initially. Slowly as I fix the cars I'll swap the hex socket screws for the new Torx ones. In my mind, this will greatly increase the lifespan of the screws and the bits and save a ton of hassle in the long run.

You're right, that is what Torx is for. Dry mud comes out with a toothbrush. I think you're going to be in good shape once you buy all the hardware.