Register and gain access to Discussions, Reviews, Tech Tips, How to Articles, and much more - on the largest Arrma RC community for RC enthusiasts that covers all aspects of the Arrma-RC brand!

Register Today It's free! This box will disappear once registered!

Loose on/off switch?

Discussion in 'Granite 2WD' started by tsitalon03, May 20, 2018.

  1. tsitalon03

    tsitalon03 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Arrma RC's:
    Granite, Kraton
    While bashing the granite the truck will turn off. It can happen anytime...I would just simply turn it back on and a few bumps later its off again. I took a closer look at the switch and I noticed 4 tiny philip head screws so I tightened them....no dice. Anyone else have this problem?
     
  2. Vitostatus

    Vitostatus Active Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    15
    Arrma RC's:
    4x4-Mega
    I would suggest looking at all the solder points could be the Deen's plug or esc is going bad had both. be careful though the last time I keep turning it back on i realized it was a high temp shut off. esc went kaboom. realized after the fact.
     
  3. Paultro84

    Paultro84 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2018
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    172
    Arrma RC's:
    Outcast
    I would remove the switch and solder the wires together so as soon as you plug it in, it's on. I've had to do that on a couple trucks that came with sliding on/off switches. Or get a push button switch and solder that on.
     
  4. Vitostatus

    Vitostatus Active Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    15
    Arrma RC's:
    4x4-Mega
    Have you ever used a toggle switch if so how well does that work
     
  5. Paultro84

    Paultro84 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2018
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    172
    Arrma RC's:
    Outcast
    No I've never tried that.
     
  6. Vitostatus

    Vitostatus Active Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    15
    Arrma RC's:
    4x4-Mega
    I've just been really considering it seeing as how hard the regular switch is to find with the body on
     
  7. Paultro84

    Paultro84 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2018
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    172
    Arrma RC's:
    Outcast
    A switch is a switch so I say give it a try. Just make sure it's rated for the proper amps/volts. And I would look for a water proof one.
     
    Vitostatus likes this.
  8. tsitalon03

    tsitalon03 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Arrma RC's:
    Granite, Kraton
    Hmmmmm I didnt notice any abnormally hot esc/motor/battery when i run it but I'll keep an eye out for it. The battery is a venom 2s 6600mah 50c stock motor stock pinion. Soldering the wires together will be a last resort as I really don't want to do it. Might look into a push button switch tho..thanks guys.
     
  9. ajdragon

    ajdragon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    257
    Arrma RC's:
    Raider
    Hi

    Do you still have the Deans style clone battery connectors on the ESC.
     
  10. tsitalon03

    tsitalon03 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Arrma RC's:
    Granite, Kraton
    Yes I do. I think the switch is simply in a bad location. I don't have problems with the on/off switch in my kraton so i might try moving it somewhere else too.
     
  11. ajdragon

    ajdragon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    257
    Arrma RC's:
    Raider
    Hi

    You may want to upgrade to real Deans connectors, the aftermarket connectors that Arrma uses are known to cause the power to shut off unexpectedly because of a poor connection. I actually had the same thing happen to mine before I switched to real Deans connectors. As for the switch, I would mount it inbetween the rear shock towers.
     
  12. tsitalon03

    tsitalon03 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Arrma RC's:
    Granite, Kraton
    Well it was the switch! I ended up using a small rubberband to keep the switch on and it worked flawlessly. I ran through the whole battery with no overheating no esc problems.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Dustin Mustangs

    Dustin Mustangs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    395
    Arrma RC's:
    Granite
    I had the same problem... it is due to the stock location. It hangs the switch over the side of the chassis and anything that brushes against it while going forward pushes the switch in the off direction. This will also eventually damage the rubber boot. Relocate it so it doesn’t hang past the edge. Two sided tape holds it just fine if you can’t find another screw location to use.
     
  • Welcome to Arrma Forum

    Arrma Forum is a Arrma RC fan site that was started to give Arrma RC enthusiasts a place to come together and discuss and share their experiences with the entire Arrma-RC product line, such as the Arrma Kraton, Arrma Talion, and Arrma Granite.

    We welcome all Arrma RC enthusiasts, both new and old, racers and bashers that share a common goal - a willingness to help and learn.
  • Disclaimer