Senton Noob, mega to blx questions?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Country Boy

Reaction score
Hi guys I'm new to the RC world and have recently bought a Senton mega V3. The cars great but the itch for more power has already taken hold! I picked up a blx motor/ esc off ebay and I understand that ideally I would need the metal motor casing, slipper clutch and spur and pinion. I will probably just run it on 2s to start with so can I just fit the motor and esc for now with no upgrades until something breaks or will the blx motor not physically fit the mega pinion etc? Cheers

I think the motor shaft on a blx 3660 motor is gonna be 5mm. So at a minimum you need a 48P pinion gear with a 5mm interior diameter.
I would upgrade your primary drive to the 3S slipper clutch and 57T 0.8 mod assembly (get the whole thing assembled it's so much easier) and get a 0.8 mod pinion to fit the motor and an adjustable motor mount. And get some loctite. You will need it.

Or just get a 48p 5mm pinion and go till things break.
Just make sure the pinion you get is one of the tooth options in your motor mount.

You need an adjustable motor mount for sure but bare minimum you need a new pinion that fits the motor and fits the mounting holes in your plastic motor mount.

I think the motor shaft on a blx 3660 motor is gonna be 5mm. So at a minimum you need a 48P pinion gear with a 5mm interior diameter.
I would upgrade your primary drive to the 3S slipper clutch and 57T 0.8 mod assembly (get the whole thing assembled it's so much easier) and get a 0.8 mod pinion to fit the motor and an adjustable motor mount. And get some loctite. You will need it.

Or just get a 48p 5mm pinion and go till things break.
Just make sure the pinion you get is one of the tooth options in your motor mount.