Typhon Talk me out of buying a nitro rtr

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gdub34

Reaction score
I love my 3s typhon but got to see 1/8 nitros run at the track. My background is ATC’s, motocross and street sport bikes. After watching the nitros run man do I want one. I was thinking either the kyosho inferno rtr or the losi eight rtr. The sound, the smell. How much of a headache and expense are these to race? How loud are they as I live in a neighborhood and all tuning/practicing will be done in my yard. The Losi is 470. The kyosho is 370. Is it worth it or stick with electric? Should I steer clear? Opinions please? Thanks to those with knowledge

If it's your first time with Nitro, the best thing would be to have a buddy who has experience help you hands on.

If not, do lots of research on break in and maintenance and see if that kind of wrenching interests you. Adjusting carburetor needles to get a good tune, changing glow plugs, monitoring heat engine temps, learning to hear what a good and bad tune sounds and feels like, looking for air leaks and sealing them if your engine is not performing as it should etc plus all the normal stuff you do with electric.

Nitro is fun, but much more involved. And the less experience you have, the more involved it is.

Nitro is something everyone should try once if they have any interest in it.

I’m super mechanical inclined and love working on and tuning combustion engines. My only issue is sound. I live in a quiet neighborhood and would rather not piss off the block tuning and running the buggy around my yard.I did build an associated rc10gt kit in one evening and it worked perfectly but it was just for bashing years ago so I have some experience but not in racing them

Kyosho. Parts are more expensive and harder to find locally. But Kyosho has always been reliable and champions winners ...proven. I've had a few. Through out the years. Including my current mp9e