This could ruin the hobby

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Also, if you did crash your drone into somebody else's property, wouldn't you legally be required to pay if the person presses charges?

** Disclaimer ** I'm not a lawyer, nor do I play one on TV.

My understanding, in the USA, you are liable for your actions. It's no different than if your dog bites someone.

If crash your RC (car, drone, plane, train boat, Tesla or whatever) into a someone/something and cause damage; you own it 100% and need to pay for the damage. If you did it on purpose, or have the perception of of criminal intent, then criminal charges could be filed. Otherwise it would be a civil suit.

Neither civil or criminal court is fun and I'm very careful with where I run and what I do.

If nothing else it's called being a responsible adult and taking responsibility for your actions.

I’m not arguing any of the points about this being implemented for tax revenue, government control and oversight, by aliens or the Illuminati, Jimmy Hoffa, etc. Y’all can have fun debating those issues.

We don't talk about Hoffa. Remember the rule, what's under Giant's Stadium stays under Giant's Stadium.
be quiet bbc three GIF by BBC

Not sarcastic. 😊 Of course your response is true, in the same sense of that old NRA trope, “if guns are outlawed only outlaws will have guns.”
But yes, I think it’s a totally reasonable measure. Like @Jerold said very well, this is no different from registering your pet, licensing your car, registering a firearm, etc. I’m not arguing any of the points about this being implemented for tax revenue, government control and oversight, by aliens or the Illuminati, Jimmy Hoffa, etc. Y’all can have fun debating those issues.