Vendetta Vendetta Cutting out on speed runs

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

basher27

Reaction score
Since I am relatively new to the RC world, wondering what that means when I am doing a speed run and I am about all the way in the throttle and the car automatically slows down until I let off the throttle and then it goes back to normal? I am running the stock 3900 motor with an upgraded Spektrum firma 130 amp ESC a up graded 32t pinion gear. My battery is a spectrum 3S 100 C battery

Do I have too large of gear in there?

You’re demanding more from the ESC than it can deliver.

You’ll have to gear down or upgrade the ESC. Castle is really the only choice for speed running since they don’t cut out like every other manufacturer.

Agree with above, you are seeing an amperage/power cut with the ESC.

You can sometimes extend the throttle pull to take longer to reduce the amperage load, but in the end, if you want to pursue speed runs more you will want to get an XLX2 or MMX8s ESC.

If you want to go just around 100 mph a MM2 or MMX6s would work decent, but the bigger ESCs are recommended because the speed bug bites and you will always want more :LOL:

I disagree with the above to a certain extent, tho they prolly right and I don't know jack.. I would try 2 3s lipo's in parrallel and see what happens.. could just be voltage sag from the single pack!? 🧐

I disagree with the above to a certain extent, tho they prolly right and I don't know jack.. I would try 2 3s lipo's in parrallel and see what happens.. could just be voltage sag from the single pack!? 🧐
This is a good point.

You could be hitting LVC or low voltage cut-off. Or its a combination of both. If that ESC has the ability to adjust LVC you could try turning that setting down or off first.

All of the above, but check dimensions if you get a new ESC. The XLX2 is a HUGE block.