Would Mamba X 8S work well with TP 4070 Brushless motor?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

secamatop

Fairly New Member
Reaction score
I'm still learning. I'm thinking of getting TP Power TP4070-CM 2200kv V1 Brushless Motor with rated Max Amps of 264A. I wish to pair it with Mamba Monster X 8S, and based on this video...
... it could go up to 350A.

So, they should work, right? Or will I be expecting any overheating or such? I'm not doing just speed runs but also lapping a road track or huge car park

I'm still learning. I'm thinking of getting TP Power TP4070-CM 2200kv V1 Brushless Motor with rated Max Amps of 264A. I wish to pair it with Mamba Monster X 8S, and based on this video...
... it could go up to 350A.

So, they should work, right? Or will I be expecting any overheating or such? I'm not doing just speed runs but also lapping a road track or huge car park

Can you describe your setup and your goals? Goals - how fast and how long.

There are a lot of factors involved. Gearing, punch, load on the motor, driving style, etc.. Nothing is guaranteed. I've maxxed out the current on the MMX 8S on 4S with a smaller motor. That was with single pass speed running.

In my case I was pinning the throttle too quickly.

The heat depends heavily on the gearing. Higher ratios and longer time will build up heat.

That should work. But on hot days (75 ambient) I have been struggling with heat issues with the MMX8S running laps > 10 minutes on fairly tame gearing (19:46). I am currently trying out a stronger fan. Never had any heat issues so far on the same car with an XLX2.

Also any reason you want a sensorless TP V1?

As Jerold has said, do tell us more.

Welcome to AF!

Honestly I'm not sure. I'm thinking of getting Rlaarlo AK917 roller. XLX2 can't fit well from the looks of it from a Ytube video. So I'm considering X 8s esc. And maybe later moving the esc n motor to a limitless?