Big Rock Arrma Big Rock BLX V3 Motor Upgrade

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SeaBass

Fairly New Member
Reaction score
Hello!

I am a complete newbie to the sport and looking for suggestions on what motor I should use. I recently purchased a Big Rock BLX V3 and upgraded almost everything with Hot Racing parts, M2C Racing, T-Bone Racing, and Spektrum. The car is upgraded tough and the only main factory item I have is the motor. I have an upgraded Spektrum servo S6280, Firma 150A Smart ESC, Arrma HD Steel Spur Gear, and 4s battery. With all these upgrades what Spektrum motor should I get? I want to keep the motor with Spektrum brand. Can my upgraded ESC work with stock motor? I’m not trying to get an overkill motor where it does non stop wheelies. A 4S battery will be the max I use. I want the car to be as stable as possible, and reliable. Any suggestions?

I also agree with the above. Don’t get another spectrum motor. For around 35 to 40 bucks you get a surpass or Hobby star 3665 or 3670 can with a KV between 2400 to 3050 and it’ll do wonders for the truck. If you intend to go 4s stick with the lower KV like both said above.

You have added a lot of weight to that car it sounds like. Did you upgrade the shocks? Stock ones will struggle. Are you going to jump the car? You should expect damage if you do. These things are mostly plastic stock and extremely tough because of the light weight. When you change that it’s not always for the best. Good luck!

I also agree with the above. Don’t get another spectrum motor. For around 35 to 40 bucks you get a surpass or Hobby star 3665 or 3670 can with a KV between 2400 to 3050 and it’ll do wonders for the truck. If you intend to go 4s stick with the lower KV like both said above.