Can you spot any problems here?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dure16

Premium Member!
Premium Member
Build Thread Contributor
Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. Fireteam
  2. Infraction
  3. Limitless
  4. Kraton EXB
  5. Talion
  6. Typhon 6s
  7. Typhon TLR
I'm having some weird issues and am trying to narrow down the cause. I'm still learning motors, so hopefully the experts here can tell if there are any signs of a problem in the pictures below.

First problem: when I hit full throttle from a stop, there's a weird hesitation before the car takes off. Changing "punch" and "start power" settings don't seem to improve or worsen the problem.
Second problem: the motor is getting hot faster than I think it should be. 180F cut off in 5 minutes.
Both problems exist regardless of whether the sensor cable is connected.

DBXLE 2.0 geared 13/50 for ~55mph
Castle 2028 1100kv w/ 2 fans
XLX2
Hoovo 9.6ah 130C 4S (2) w/ QS8

1689970100099.png

IMG_8558.jpeg

IMG_8562.jpeg

IMG_8559.jpeg

IMG_8563.jpeg

IMG_8564.jpeg

IMG_8561.jpeg

I don't know why it would be heating up so fast but the hesitation makes me think those poop hovoo lipo struggling to keep up. I would expect lowering the punch and start power would help with that though. :eek:

Looks can be deceiving with motors. If you’ve already heated it up to where it lost efficiency, that’s when you start to see temps rising faster than normal. Gear back down and run it outside of 85 degree temps like it is here. Might just simply be ambient temps.
It hasn't exceeded the 180F automatic cutoff. Good point about the ambient temps though.

I don't know why it would be heating up so fast but the hesitation makes me think those poop hovoo lipo struggling to keep up. I would expect lowering the punch and start power would help with that though. :eek: