Vorteks Clicking in rear diff

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Vortex 2wd

Reaction score
What could cause clicking? I took it all apart and everything looks fine.

Put it together and still there. You hold one rear tire. And spin the other and there is almost like a catch point every few spins

Makes no sense.

Any ideas

Well. Funny question. Yet... it had 10k in it. Not a lot from factory. And it did it. I put in 50 wt shock oil for now till I get the bottle of 30k diff oil.

I have 2 of these and the other works fine with 50. Just loose ish. Yet. It's not bad. But I'm no expert

I took it apart cause it was doing this...

I can't put a video from my phone.

But going backwards both tires spin till it sticks... then one reverses direction. Then it unsticks and goes the same way again.
What WT did you replace the stock fluid with?
Replied in other comment . Still figuring this forum out

Your diffs are open diffs. When you spin one tire in one direction, the other tire will spin in the opposite direction. Thats normal. Without a diff, you would have horse poop turning, traction ETC. When you hold a tire, you are "diffing out" the other tire and you should hear some planet gear clicking. Totally normal.

Hmm. Ok. Thanks. Just it stopped moving and makes loud noises when I try to drive it.

Thought motor and spur gear. But took that off and tried it on the other car. And it works fine

Guess I'll put it together and try again. But sounded like grinding in a way
Your diffs are open diffs. When you spin one tire in one direction, the other tire will spin in the opposite direction. Thats normal. Without a diff, you would have horse poop turning, traction ETC. When you hold a tire, you are "diffing out" the other tire and you should hear some planet gear clicking. Totally normal.
Bah did it again. Wish I could post video. Ugh