First Timer New Typhon Drivetrain Questions

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bscheife

Reaction score
Total Newb question here about how the drivetrain works. Just got my first RC in 20 years; it's a Typhon 3S. Unboxed it yesterday and I was a bit surprised that it doesn't roll entirely smoothly when the power is off.

With the power off and the car in the air, for both the front and rear axles, if I turn one wheel, the other wheel turns smoothly in the other direction. This tells me there's a diff on both axles -- so far so good. But for either axle, if I turn both wheels at the same time in the same direction, there's a gentle clicking noise coming from, I think, the motor. That's what's preventing the car from rolling totally smoothly -- there's a bit of resistance. What's more, turning the rear wheels together in the same direction also turns the front wheels: first there's a softer click, and then there's a slightly harder click, at which point the front wheels also turn. That pattern repeats: soft click, hard click, then the front wheels turn.

I don't think there's anything wrong with the car, it runs great, but I'm scratching my head trying to remember if my buggy that I had as a kid did the same thing, and I don't think it did. But I'm wondering if someone would be willing to explain to me:

1. Where do the clicking noise and the resistance come from (and are these normal)? Driving and rolling the car, it sounds a bit rougher than I remember my old 2WD model being.
2. About the front wheels turning when I turn the back wheels: does this tell me anything about whether or not there's a centre diff?

Just trying to understand some of the mechanics. Thanks

1. The clicking is coming from the spur and pinion at the motor, and slight resistance is normal because as you turn all the wheels, you’re overcoming the rotor’s magnetic pull on the can of the motor.