flashing lights, no steering, melting servo..

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

titan86

Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. Typhon 3s
Hey all,

So Ive a little trouble, since I bought the Typhoon 3s its had steering issues. arrma uk ( through my retailer ) took the car back and swapped the servo for a better one. a bit bigger and stronger I'm told. it failed again, but started working so we left it as was

today the steering stopped working again ( I'm a normal / mild user, not exactly bashing ) and I got flashing lights on the car, so stopped and looked and it looks to me that the servo is melting on the top.. and from what I can tell, if I switch on the car, it slowly looses power ( on standstill ) and smells questionable.

any advice would be great as I'm abroad with it and its kinda dead

if there is a reset I should do, please can someone advise where a link may be as I'm not technical at all and know nothing lol

Thanks

tempImageAWjjmy.png

Whoa, that does look like it's melting. If you unplug the servo from the receiver does the car work normally (Minus steering of course)?

Did you setup the end points? Melting is usually a sign of overcurrent which is usually a sign of poor end point settings (servo is trying to turn past the stopping point).

If this servo has died, you have a couple options.

You can reach out to Horizon and they may setup a replacement (stock s651 servo). They are okay servos (my luck has been hit or miss). Arrma (in the US) has a 2yr warranty, they do require a purchase receipt.

You could upgrade to a 6s servo (S652) I have good luck using them on 3S cars and they use the same spline servo saver, 23t.

Upgrade to a better aftermarket servo and also buy a new 25t spline servo saver. Almost all aftermarket servos are 25t (not the Arrma 23t).

Last edited: