Kraton Grinding noise *Please help*

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jondylondy

Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. Kraton 6s
Been chasing this annoying grinding noise for a few weeks now. I checked all of the diffs, gear mesh and replaced all the bearings. I'm fairly new to this so I ran out of things to check. I feel that it doesn't have the punch (no wheelies) anymore either. Check it out and any help is appreciated. First time poster as well :)

Sounds like one of the gears in either diff has broken teeth. When you take the diffs apart you really have to look at the teeth closely. Your truck will sound like that even if one tooth is broken and I don’t mean completely missing. It could look dull and make that sound but it should be noticeable.

Thank you for the quick responses. I'll take them apart again and do a thorough check. I did touch every single gear when I was replacing the bearings, but obviously the problem still exist. So I'll check again thank you

I would say Input gear. You will have to change the ring gear on the diff also if the input gear is wore out. Mine went out and one or the other took out the other one.

Easy check takes 2 seconds. Lift front and and push down on rear. Hit the throttle. Then lift rear and push front down and hit throttle. Bingo , which ever is down when you hear it that's the side. Not often the center goes.

Easy check takes 2 seconds. Lift front and and push down on rear. Hit the throttle. Then lift rear and push front down and hit throttle. Bingo , which ever is down when you hear it that's the side. Not often the center goes.
I just did that and you can clearly hear the difference. It's the rear! THANK YOU

I just did that and you can clearly hear the difference. It's the rear! THANK YOU
Not a problem. ? I bet you could feel it to lol... ok hit a parts breaker and buy the whole diff housing with diff. So much easier that way.