Hinge Pin issues

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JP Bashed

Fairly New Member
Reaction score
Hi All

I’m pretty new to the hobby and love to bash and really put my cars through some serious abuse.

I’ve notice very early on that the hinge pins on these cars are a real weak spot.

I have even destroyed RPM arms and stock hinges due to the pins bending and opening up the hinges and arm holes.

So far this has happened on my MT8 and Typhon TLR tuned and my mates Kraton V5 6S.

Is anyone else suffering this issue?

I literally went through a set of hinge pins every time I went out and in turn cause damage to the lower arms and hinges.

Due to this I have done something about it and provided titanium grade 5 hinge pins for the 3 x cars mentioned and had no issues since. We are still testing but so far so good.

My mate recently installed RPM arms on his V5 Kraton and had a set of hinge pins off me and he upgraded the hinges. Took his car out and rolled it under high speed breaking.

He snapped one of the RPM arms on one section!!!! Yes snapped clean, couldn’t believe it.

He changed the arm and inspected the hinge pins which were still straight and in perfect condition.

Be interested to hear from the community and see if anyone else has suffered with the same problem?

I posted this in your other thread, but on the Typhon TLR, the hinge pin blocks are the weakest and breaks easily before the hinge pins even get to the point of bending or breaking.

The base Typhon 6S V5 doesn't have this same weakness, but they're two different rigs.

Are you making these titanium hinge pins or? I haven't really had any issues with Arrma pins, but have broken and bent TRX and Corally hinge pins. I've found that TRX pins tend to snap rather than bend..Arrma's bend too from what I've seen