Notorious Notorious whine

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ChrisC10

Fairly New Member
Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. Notorious
Hey guys I’m new to RC and just bought my kids the Arrma Granite and so I had to get a car also so I bought a used Notorious. I have ran a few packs through it and it really rips. I changed the dif fluids in all the diffs 50/200/20. I went and ran it last weekend and it seemed to be whining more than it had previously. I have attached a couple clips to show what I’m talking about. Maybe it’s normal I don’t know. Thanks in advance!

That’s so weird! My senton does the same thing LOL! I told everybody on the forum how sometimes my senton does these weird things but they end up fixing themselves. For example, the front diff starts to make a very sad noise every once in awhile, every time I hit the brakes or go in reverse... but then after 3 or 4 runs I don’t hear it again for another few months. That weird whining sound, my senton also does. Not sure what it is... probably a bad bearing. But it usually goes away after a few runs.

Sometimes it’s a leaf scraping against a driveshaft but most of the time I can’t find the reason.

Do you have the pinion mesh set too tight? Can you video the pinion and spur mesh. You don’t need the power on, just rock the spur or pinion back and forth.

Do you have the pinion mesh set too tight? Can you video the pinion and spur mesh. You don’t need the power on, just rock the spur or pinion back and forth.
This would help alot^ but watching it roll in the video, it really doesn’t seem like the mesh is too tight! Do what he says though... record a video of you rocking the spur through the cutout underneath the chassis.

To me it does sound like the gear mesh is too tight.

If you guys will excuse me I’m gonna go check my mesh tighten up my motor mount real quick ?