Register and gain access to Discussions, Reviews, Tech Tips, How to Articles, and much more - on the largest Arrma RC community for RC enthusiasts that covers all aspects of the Arrma-RC brand!

Register Today It's free! This box will disappear once registered!

Radio Range issue

Discussion in 'Electronics' started by Walter, May 19, 2015.

  1. Walter

    Walter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    203
    Arrma RC's:
    Fury, Granite
    I've got a problem where my Granite BLS seems to go out of radio range when it's only 50-75 feet away. It wasn't like this at first, and it's really annoying. I used to be able to drive till the truck was so far away I could barely see it.

    I've tried new transmitter batteries and made sure I have fully charged packs. I've also tried rebinding the receiver.

    I should mention that I replaced the ADS-5 servo with and ADS-7M. Also, when my son's Fury BLS started having weird issues, (lack of steering, random throttle changes, lack of range), we did some troubleshooting and narrowed it down to the ESC which Arrma replaced under warranty. One of the troubleshooting steps was putting my receiver in his Fury. I'm worried that either I caused damage to my receiver or perhaps my ESC is failing now as well.

    Does anyone have any additional troubleshooting advice? I figure I will end up calling Arrma for warranty again at some point, but I want to make sure I show due diligence and ask for the proper parts.
     
  2. Unusual RC

    Unusual RC Moderator
    Staff Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2015
    Messages:
    805
    Likes Received:
    295
    Location:
    The Hague, The Netherlands, Europe
    Arrma RC's:
    Fury, Mojave
    Hi @Walter,

    Nice to see you on this forum as well.
    I recall your previous problems, and sure they are quite unusual.

    Are you sure the tip of the antenna of the receiver (Rx) is still attached to the antenna wire?
    If the top is damaged, you can get problems.

    2,4Ghz is a very short wave length for radio waves. So this is quite important.
     
  3. Walter

    Walter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    203
    Arrma RC's:
    Fury, Granite
    I wondered about the antenna as well. I inspected it for visible damage, tried to ensure it was not kinked in the receiver waterproof cover or at the top of the vertical pipe. I tried rerouting the exposed end of the antenna wire that comes out of the vertical pipe away from the ESC, metal rear shock tower... tried inside and outside of the body.

    Beyond that how do I tell if the receiver antenna wire is still attached? A break inside the insulation would be hidden. I don't think it's damaged, but how to be sure?
     
  4. griff7373

    griff7373 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    13
    I would lean towards the antenna wire being part of the issue it would be hard to check inside the insulation for a break. Can you open up the receiver and ring the antenna wire out with a meter?
     
  5. Kyzane

    Kyzane Supporting Member!
    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    78
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    Arrma RC's:
    Senton, Talion
    I would agree with griff this sounds like an antenna issue. i had the antenna break in one of my RC's a few months break but it was hidden by the antenna insulation. had to replace the receiver to fix the issue. car would act fine for me within 50 feet or so but freak out with anything beyond that.
     
  6. Walter

    Walter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    203
    Arrma RC's:
    Fury, Granite
    I was afraid of that. I'll check out the antenna more closely and see if I can find any damage. Maybe Arrma will warranty the receiver for me. I certainly didn't abuse it so hopefully they will consider replacing it.
     
  7. rcnut14

    rcnut14 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    9
    how old is the truck?
     
  8. Kyzane

    Kyzane Supporting Member!
    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    78
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    Arrma RC's:
    Senton, Talion
    i'd recommend grabbing one of these receivers anyways, it's good to have an extra around and they are cheap. they also happen to work with the Arrma transmitters. I kee an extra around just for oops moments when i'm working on or driving my cars and i do something stupid like oh pull on my antenna cable when trying to move it to get it out of my way and have it fall apart:

    Flysky 3ch GR3E
     
  9. Walter

    Walter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    203
    Arrma RC's:
    Fury, Granite
    I bought it new in February 2015.
     
  10. Unusual RC

    Unusual RC Moderator
    Staff Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2015
    Messages:
    805
    Likes Received:
    295
    Location:
    The Hague, The Netherlands, Europe
    Arrma RC's:
    Fury, Mojave
    The Arrma receivers are quite expensive unfortunately, or did I miss some bargain?
    The important part of the antenna wire has transparent insulation. So it is quite easy to inspect.

    You will find this piece underneath the black antenna cap.

    When you crash up side down on hard surface, it is almost a certainty the antenna cap will be damaged.
    If it goes through and through, the receiving part of the antenna can be damaged.

    Maybe you can post a picture of this antenna tip? Make sure you use macro mode on your camera.
     
  11. griff7373

    griff7373 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    13
    I believe the prior poster was recommending the FlySky receiver which he says will work with the Arrma transmitter. I have no experience using that combination, but the FlySky receivers are cheap in price point.
     
  12. rcnut14

    rcnut14 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    9
    It should work, arrma uses flysky radios
     
  13. Unusual RC

    Unusual RC Moderator
    Staff Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2015
    Messages:
    805
    Likes Received:
    295
    Location:
    The Hague, The Netherlands, Europe
    Arrma RC's:
    Fury, Mojave
    I do have a FlySky transmitter and receivers, and I cannot bind them with the Arrma TX-100 Rx.

    As far as I know the transmitters from Arrma are not from FlySky. They differ in some points if you compare them.
    Also the Tx is something Hobbico uses on many RC cars like Axial.

    Can somebody confirm it really works with part numbers?

    If it would work it would be great. But as far as I know it is a rumor, and not proven yet. I have tried...and some others too without result :(
     
  14. Kyzane

    Kyzane Supporting Member!
    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    78
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    Arrma RC's:
    Senton, Talion
    I have bound my Arrma receiver with my Flysky GT3C transmitter, they both run on 2.4 GHZ and DSSS transmission (Flysky calls theirs AFHDS) I will see if I can't motivate myself to grab one of my easier cars to swap in my extra flysky receiver and see if I can't get it to sync up to the Arrma transmitter as well. But i do know for a fact that the Arrma receiver pairs perfectly fine with the GT3C transmitter.

    If your curious about pricing being an issue just compare the cost of a new Transmitter (including 1 receiver) vs an Arrma branded receiver

    Flysky GT3C
    $59.98
    includes 1 receiver
    Future receivers $9.88

    Arrma Receiver
    $32.99 on Arrma Website
    $24.99 on Tower Hobbies

    I probably won't get around to trying to reverse my receiver and transmitter until thursday or friday night if you still would like me to try it for you.
     
    WoodiE and Unusual RC like this.
  15. Unusual RC

    Unusual RC Moderator
    Staff Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2015
    Messages:
    805
    Likes Received:
    295
    Location:
    The Hague, The Netherlands, Europe
    Arrma RC's:
    Fury, Mojave
    Ah, now I get it! ;)
    I tried to bind the Arrma TX-100 Tx to a FlySky Rx (receiver), but you do it the other way round.

    I cannot access my RC stuff at the moment, but will try it soon.
    Hobbyking sells FLySky sets and separate Rx's under their own brand-name. Indeed these receivers are very cheap, and work well.
     
    #15 Unusual RC, May 21, 2015
    Last edited: May 21, 2015
  16. rcnut14

    rcnut14 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    9


    the radios that axial, redcat, exceed, proboat, etc. are rebranded flysky gt2's. the arrma radio looks a lot like the gt2.
     
  17. WoodiE

    WoodiE Kind of good admin
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2015
    Messages:
    2,459
    Likes Received:
    1,631
    Location:
    Lexington, KY
    How do you know this for sure? I've heard this to be the case.
     
  18. rcnut14

    rcnut14 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    9
    I don't. that's why I said it should work. but I DO know for a fact that many companies owned by hobbico use flysky radios. the arrma radio looks very much like the flysky. and I know that other rebranded flysky radios work with flysky rx's. so, im assuming. im not saying that I couldn't be wrong, it's possible. ive never tried using arrma tx's, so I don't know for sure.
     
  19. WoodiE

    WoodiE Kind of good admin
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2015
    Messages:
    2,459
    Likes Received:
    1,631
    Location:
    Lexington, KY
    That you did, and then you made the following statement "arrma uses flysky radios" not you think they use or might use but that they do use.

    Please be careful about making such statements without actual knowledge.
     
  20. Unusual RC

    Unusual RC Moderator
    Staff Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2015
    Messages:
    805
    Likes Received:
    295
    Location:
    The Hague, The Netherlands, Europe
    Arrma RC's:
    Fury, Mojave
    I have put these two transmitters next to each other, and in detail they are not alike.
    This is the re-branded HK version of the FlySky GT-2/

    Also the size of the receiver is a bit different. Those of Arrma are even smaller for example.
     
  • Welcome to Arrma Forum

    Arrma Forum is a Arrma RC fan site that was started to give Arrma RC enthusiasts a place to come together and discuss and share their experiences with the entire Arrma-RC product line, such as the Arrma Kraton, Arrma Talion, and Arrma Granite.

    We welcome all Arrma RC enthusiasts, both new and old, racers and bashers that share a common goal - a willingness to help and learn.
  • Disclaimer