Typhon Soldering ec5 connector onto esc!!

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

powell987

Fairly New Member
Reaction score
Currently have x2 xt90 connectors on esc but need ec5 and only the 1 connector! Would it be easy enough for me to solder just 1 ec5 connector on ?
I have no experience with soldering…..
also whats yhe difference between xt90 and ec5 the ec5 on my battery still fits into the xt90 on the esc.

Thanks

The problem is the size of the male bullets off the xt90 which is a tad too small to make a perfect connection with the female ec5 plug. While these two plugs may work together; there is potential for problems later on.

You can solder just one EC5 connector on; if your not using 2 EC5 batteries.

I prefer XT90 connectors. I solder them on batteries and esc with no issue. Just make sure to get the soldering iron nice and hot.

The problem is the size of the male bullets off the xt90 which is a tad too small to make a perfect connection with the female ec5 plug. While these two plugs may work together; there is potential for problems later on.

You can solder just one EC5 connector on; if your not using 2 EC5 batteries.
Thats what i was thinking just to solder one EC5 connector on!
Is it easy enough to solder on with no soldering experience ?

Thats what i was thinking just to solder one EC5 connector on!
Is it easy enough to solder on with no soldering experience ?
I'd recommend watching some soldering tutorials on Youtube if you have no experience before proceeding so that you understand the basics of how to ensure that you get a good bond/penetration and how to recognize it. Power leads that need to withstand a few hundred amps are not the place where you want a poor solder joint.

Some tips I can give you to get started and to make it easier. Generally speaking:

• Make sure your soldering iron has at least 45W for 10AWG, 60W for 8AWG, and 100W if you're soldering QS8s.