Kraton Soldering bullet plugs

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RC Steve

Very Active Member
Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. Kraton EXB
  2. Notorious
  3. Outcast EXB
I used to solder electronics for a living but bullet plugs have got me. How do you get the solder inside the plug instead of all over the outside? Any advice would be welcome. I'm trying to connect an ESC to an EC5 plug.

Make sure your soldering iron has sufficient wattage to transfer enough heat into the bullet (for 8mm I'd recommend 80W and up, for EC5 I'd say 60W and up should suffice though I find that more power helps as it shortens the time the iron needs to be on the work). Strip the end of the lead and put just a tiny bit of soldering flux on the wire. Insert into the bullet, put a dab of solder on the tip of the iron and make good contact with both wire and bullet. Begin adding solder as needed. Works a treat for me.

That's pretty much what I do now. What tip do you use on your iron?

I used to solder electronics for a living but bullet plugs have got me. How do you get the solder inside the plug instead of all over the outside? Any advice would be welcome. I'm trying to connect an ESC to an EC5 plug.

Get your hands on one of these oldie but a goodie soldering guns.

IMG_20230615_204406195.jpg

100W of instant heat!
Makes soldering EC5 connectors a Breeze!

Pro Tip:
I drill some 1/4" holes in a scrap piece of 2x4" wood -to use as a secure holder of the EC5 pins while I solder on the cables.

Reference Link-
@parcou
https://www.arrmaforum.com/threads/how-do-you-solder-these-or-protect-the-solder.50260/#post-718021

I'll typically use whatever tip has the most mass which is usually one of these (which is what I'm using currently). The have a pretty large contact patch both on the wire and the connector.
1686880138326.png

View attachment 306055

100W of instant heat!

Pro Tip: