Soldering Irons

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I use a Weller WTCPT station with aTC201T iron. You can buy different temperature tips and also different size/shapes.

That looks like the old weller I had on my bench back when I was a television tech 20 years ago. Only difference is mine had a variable power knob on the front with the switch.
I've never understood soldering stations and fancy adjustable watts for the average user. I've got a weller 550? Gun, a 60w and an 80w and a torch. I grab the one I need (almost always the 80) and do the job and move on.
I'm not judging those who have them and enjoy them!
I'm simply saying as much as I solder I've never found the need.

I find it worthwhile to invest in the right one at the beginning instead of starting with a less-capable model just because it’s a bit less expensive, then buying another, another, and another.

I think the fact you own 4 irons of different wattage justifies your need for a 'fancy adjustable watts' station Sir.

I find it worthwhile to invest in the right one at the beginning instead of starting with a less-capable model just because it’s a bit less expensive.

I am a mechanic and live off my tools. I understand quality tools and the necessity for them.

I've been at this a long while, just saying I don't understand. My solo irons aren't any less capable then a station. They are "the right tool"

If my job was sitting there day in and day out soldering up boards, I'd totally get a station. Thats not what most of us are doing.

I think the fact you own 4 irons of different wattage justifies your need for a 'fancy adjustable watts' station Sir.

I really don't though.. as I stated I only ever use the 80 or the torch. The torch is while working on cars and when a normal iron is out of the question. I couldn't tell you when the gun or 60 was used last. I'm stating you can get by just fine with that.