3s ring/input stripped

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Velodromed

Snatching defeat from the jaws of victory!
Premium Member
Excellence Award
Build Thread Contributor
Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. BigRock 4x4
  2. Granite
  3. Kraton 6s
  4. Kraton 4s
  5. Notorious
  6. Outcast 4s
  7. Vorteks
  8. Voltage
  9. Infraction 4x4
So I stripped out the rear ring and input gears in my granite. It’s an easy fix but…why did it strip to begin with? In over a year I’ve yet to strip one. I recently installed cvds on the rear and a week ago put in a 3670 motor. I’ve been running hot racing yokes for a couple months.

I put a new one in last night but decided to pull it apart again this morning and check the mesh because I couldn’t stop thinking about it last night. I’d also forgotten to fill it so did that as well. Good thing as it was only 1/4 full from the factory. I filled it up with 20k, I’m running 30k up front.

Maybe with the combination of cvds and the hot racing yoke it needs a tighter mesh? Thinking this, I swapped the shim to the ring side and it was way to tight. So I removed the shim altogether and it seems good. A little tight but good.

I ran it a bit ago and all seems well. I’ll run it again tomorrow then pull it apart to check everything. Trial and error…

I wonder if with the combination of everything the gear is now the weak point? If it continues to strip, perhaps try one of the CNC crown gears.

Combination of all that,I'd say..never used the cvds.but the stock axles have alot of play an flex,taking alot off the the power shock off the diffs,new 3670?did ya adjust slipper clutch after installing motor,landing granites under power will also do it....I've tore out 4,5 rears,never a front.....