Battery fire takes 4 lives

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Wow man, that sucks. I’ve no experience with them, but those must be pretty big packs, right? Who knows what bargain basement e-bikes have in them?

Very Sad with what happened.

I feel like RC'ers are a lot safer and typically more educated than most of these fly by night e bike and scooter shops and obviously customers.

Most of these e-bike/scooter shops have been around awhile and are run my mom&pop owners that don't really understand the technical issues of these Lipo batteries..
Even if they did.. After a few years of running the store(s) and having seen NO major problems with the "battery packs" they more than likely begin to assume those things are "as safe" power tool batteries...
And get complacent with their (Lipo) handling and storage..

I have a buddy that is a middleman for companies that make all sorts of things. He was over in China when the Hoverboard craze started and bought a lot of 500 of them. He visited the factories and got to pick the batteries that he wanted inside them. Not a single one of his boards caught on fire. But as you know they were catching on fire all over the place. Simply put the other companies chose the cheaper batteries. And that’s all it took.

It very sad to hear this. I think most of the RC community is educated on Lipo safety. The mass public isn't Imo. Some people are used to plugging things up and letting them charge overnight. That's a bad idea for e bikes, e-scooters and such. I even keep my drones half charged. Only lipo gets fully charged the most is my phone. But it onmost of the time discharging.

Wow man, that sucks. I’ve no experience with them, but those must be pretty big packs, right? Who knows what bargain basement e-bikes have in them?
NYC Housing Authority ( The Projects) will be installing Lipo charging stations for E-Scoots and E-bikes outside the building for this reason.