Newbie here! Question about ESC/bec connections.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

junebug74

Fairly New Member
Reaction score
Good afternoon all! This forum was part of the reason we choose to get the Vorteks vs others.
My son was wanting to clean up his rig and inadvertently disconnected the JST connectors from the BEC. I thought it seemed self explanatory, however the throttle isn't responding when plugged into the THR port. Any help is appreciated!!
PXL_20230626_221853479.jpg

Welcome to the forum! The black (or darkest wire) goes on the outside side of the receiver for all connections. It’s easy to reverse them, and they just won’t work when plugged in backwards. Ground almost always goes to the outside on virtually any brand of RX.
Its possible you will need to go through the calibration sequence again, and/or re-bind it if is new or from a different truck.

Check your throttle trim on the Remote and make sure it's in the middle/centered ,then plug in the ESC wire to the throttle on the receiver and power up the car.

Roger that! I see a JST on the receiver as well. Is that where the motor fan goes?

Thanks!
The picture you posted is of your receiver, or RX. That’s not a BEC, the BEC in inside the ESC and powers the receiver through the ESC/throttle channel. The fan for the ESC plugs into the ESC JST plug by the cables. Motor fans (or lights) can be plugged into any Aux plug on the receiver.

Okay, steering is working. The JST on the blue motor lead? I'm not sure where that one goes

Still a no go. I'm looking at the manual now.
Your manual has a schematic.
Okay, the manual explains which one is throttle, steering, etc. The same is labeled on the receiver. It doesn't show me what connector is the throttle..is it the one from the ESC, or from the blue motor wire.

Thank you Busted! Trying that now.
Progress! Both fans are running, steering works, but throttle isn't responding...