Smart G2 Charger + Smart G2 LiPo: settings?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

roco_kiefa

Fairly New Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I am new to RC and I bought a Spektrum S155 G2 Charger and a Spektrum Smart G2 LiPo (4S).
The manual is very poor. I have a few Newbie-Questions:

- The standard storage voltage setting of the LiPo is 3,9V. Is that ok? I thought the right storage voltage is 3,8V?

- There is an option in the Smart-Settings for „update battery“ What does this mean?
A Firmware Update for the LiPo?

- I have only a function to charge the battery. Why is there no setting for discharge or storage?

maybe my questions are stupid, but I do not want to make any mistakes.

best regards from Austria
Roco Kiefa

Not an expert but those lipos will self discharge to the proper storage voltage on there own after 3 days I believe.

Welcome! And to answer your questions,
1. Yes, 3.9 is fine for storage
2. Yes, these batteries can update firmware, and actually store charge history among several other things.
3. There should be a way to enter settings, I only use the S2200 G2 chargers, so I’m not totally sure how, but it does have a storage charge function.

Your questions are not stupid at all, we all started somewhere.

3.8-.3.85v is typically storage, but 3.9v would probably fine too. It's possible they use a higher storage voltage to help account for drain by "Smart" electronics in the batteries.

Cheaper chargers may not have a discharge function, charger discharges are so slow as to be almost useless anyway. There is probably not a storage function because they rely on the battery electronics to do that automatically.