Kraton Steering Slop

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bicketybam

Back from vacation!
Lifetime Premium!
Premium Member
Excellence Award
Build Thread Contributor
Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. BigRock 4x4
  2. Granite
  3. Infraction
  4. Kraton 8S
  5. Kraton 6s
  6. Kraton 4s
  7. Mojave
  8. Notorious
  9. Talion
  10. Typhon 6s
I'm brand new to the Kraton. I have a lot of play in the steering. Part of it is the service saver which looks like it needs tightening (I'll Google that procedure). The other issue I see is that there is a lot of play between the pivot ball that is at the end of the suspension arm and the steering block. Is it supposed to be that way? Can I tighten that up? Thanks!

I'm brand new to the Kraton. I have a lot of play in the steering. Part of it is the service saver which looks like it needs tightening (I'll Google that procedure). The other issue I see is that there is a lot of play between the pivot ball that is at the end of the suspension arm and the steering block. Is it supposed to be that way? Can I tighten that up? Thanks!

A lot of times the metal steering rack that connects the two tie rods gets bent and causes a lot of slop. Also the caps for tightening the pillow balls can loosen up. I had to put plumbers tape on the threads of the metal caps to keep them from backing off. And my servo saver was constantly loosening up as well. It's easy to tighten it up. Theres a hole in the bottom of the chassis that you can stick a hex driver up in to and you can rotate the plastic nut. Don't go to tight or it won't give enough and will kill your servo.

I am on the stock Servo, so I don't care about killing it LOL. What do you suggest for an after-market servo?

I am on the stock Servo, so I don't care about killing it LOL. What do you suggest for an after-market servo?

If you have the cash, Savox. There's a couple threads on the forum for upgrades recommend for the Kraton.