Register and gain access to Discussions, Reviews, Tech Tips, How to Articles, and much more - on the largest Arrma RC community for RC enthusiasts that covers all aspects of the Arrma-RC brand!

Register Today It's free! This box will disappear once registered!

Castle mamba monster 2 has driven me 2 the edge

Discussion in 'Electronics' started by Happy673, Apr 25, 2018.

  1. Happy673

    Happy673 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2018
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    California
    Arrma RC's:
    Kraton, Nero, Outcast
    So I have a kraton with a castle mamba monster 2200kv 1515 motor , was working ok but was getting low voltage cutoff when a couple of times because some dirty pos at the hobby shop sold me 14 gauge adapter to run to batteries that I didn't need. I figured it out and ditched the adapter and put a 10 gauge lead from positive to positive making a series connection for two batteries.

    Ran for less than 2 minutes and cut out. All the previous times it would restart but this time it wouldn't so I took the mamba monster speed control from my E-Revo and put it in the Kraton. It turned right on but no throttle just steering worked. So I unplugged batteries and was reading to figure out wtf was happening. Plugged batteries back in and turn on, nothing, zip,zero,nada.

    What's going on. Help. I'm ready to throw them both out the window!
     
  2. WoodiE

    WoodiE Kind of good admin
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2015
    Messages:
    2,750
    Likes Received:
    1,798
    Location:
    Lexington, KY
    @Happy673 sounds like you've got a lot of moving targets going on right now. I'd start by going back to the basics...
    1. Put your battery on the charger and get it fully charged. I'd probably go ahead and do a balance charge while you're at it.
    2. Next unplug everything from the receiver and then reconnect everything paying close attention that everything is being plugged in correctly:
      tactic-tr326-receiver.png.jpg
    3. Then do the same for the motor and and ESC, ensuring everything is plugged in as needed.
    4. Once your batteries are fully charged, put them in the Kraton. Then turn on the transmitter, then the Kraton.

    Try that and let us know how it goes.
     
  3. chevys10zr2003

    chevys10zr2003 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2016
    Messages:
    834
    Likes Received:
    287
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    Arrma RC's:
    Kraton, Senton, Typhon
    @Happy673 Do you have a picture of this wiring that you did? Positive to positive on the batteries would be in parallel or maybe I am just misunderstanding it.
     
    Iamtheoutcast and Raji like this.
  4. Raji

    Raji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2017
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    119
    Arrma RC's:
    Outcast
    post a clear pic for the wiring
     
  5. Happy673

    Happy673 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2018
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    California
    Arrma RC's:
    Kraton, Nero, Outcast
    Turns out the internal bec blew. I'm not exactly sure why. I put an external bec in and there back up and running. I bit the bullet and bought a brand new castle mamba monster x because I didn't really like the way the additional wiring looked from the external bec. I only bought one so I still have another castle mamba monster that I have to run an external bec on. I didn't want to buy two brand new esc's . Thanks for everyone's input about the issues I was having. My servos are high torque and draw a lot of power so I assume that is what damaged the internal bec' s . No problem with the new X, so far.
     
  6. olds97_lss

    olds97_lss Premium Member!
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2016
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    56
    I have a savage flux that I bought used. It came with the original blur esc in it which was a MMv1. I only have one servo and the receiver powered from it. It seemed to do fine for the 6 months I ran it. I got the MMX/2200kv system for it so I wouldn't have to worry about getting it wet. So far, it's doing ok as well.

    It came with a hitec HS-7955TG servo, 333oz @ 6V. Not sure the amperage it pulls, but it's the most expensive/powerful servo I own.

    Never thought to look to see what amperage it pulls, 4.3A stall. The MMX supplies 8A peak, so guessing I'm safe. I don't see on castle's site what the MMv2 amps are for the BEC. Seems like something they should make a point to list. If you look at one of the MMv2/combo listings, it shows that it's also 8A peak. So, that would suggest if you cooked the one in the MMv2, you will also cook the one in the MMX.
     

Users found this page by searching for:

  1. mamba monster 2 voltage cutoff

  • Welcome to Arrma Forum

    Arrma Forum is a Arrma RC fan site that was started to give Arrma RC enthusiasts a place to come together and discuss and share their experiences with the entire Arrma-RC product line, such as the Arrma Kraton, Arrma Talion, and Arrma Granite.

    We welcome all Arrma RC enthusiasts, both new and old, racers and bashers that share a common goal - a willingness to help and learn.
  • Disclaimer